Which Seagull do I want?

Post your wanted adds here

Moderators: John@sos, charlesp, Charles uk, RickUK, Petergalileo

Heron Addict

Which Seagull do I want?

Post by Heron Addict »

Newbie and beginner here, so looking to be pointed in the right direction if possible. I have only had limited use of seagull engines back in the 80s when on pike fishing trips in Scotland. I am now interested ion purchasing one to take on fishing trips on rivers in southern France.

I have been browsing all of the ebay adverts and trying to figure which motor will suit my needs, then I found this place.

I am after a small outboard that I can use to push our fishing boats over greater distances and hopefully a little quicker than our electric trolling motor. The seagull will probably only be used on a 2.9m hypalon inflatable with an inflatable keel. The boat has maximum weight carrying capacity of 510kg and weighs 36kg on its own. However it will need to push this with two anglers and a mountain of fishing and camping gear. Tents, food, fishing tackle, bait, enough beer for up to a week! Occassionally we may tow another lightweight 3m inflatable to fit more gear (and beer) in if necessary.

Does anybody have any recommendations as to the best seagull for the job? t is likely that the seagull will live in France and probably only get used for two to three weeks a year although my friend will look after it while it is overwintering etc.

I appreciate I will need a crash course on seagull maintenance and repair, but then thats part of the fun!

Cheers
Heron Addict

Re: Which Seagull do I want?

Post by Heron Addict »

OK I should have done all the reading I have just done this evening prior to posting. Am also aware that this is probably in the wrong bit of the forum? Feel free to move if necessary.