another novice's tale

Please post comments, suggestions and articles for inclusion in The Guide here... they will be reviewed by the team and used to build up The Guide itself

Moderators: John@sos, charlesp, Charles uk, RickUK, Petergalileo

silverbaby

another novice's tale

Post by silverbaby »

Now then. I chose Silverbaby when I had to choose a moniker because, altho grizzled, I'm a complete beginner when it comes to engines. So excuse daft questions.
Here's my story so far with a 1962-3 40 series Seagull my bro-in-law found and gave me as a retirement present, which is how I found you guys ...
All looked quite clean and correct except there was a gap between fuel line and tank. Looked like somebody handy had been cleaning it up and then died and nobody could find the missing bit - fuel tap, of course. I took the bottom off the carburettor - don't like to go further unless I have to - and it looked clean. So did fuel tank. Washed a little bit of gunge out of the fuel line. Ordered a petrol tap from good old John at SOS and eventually got the gearbox oiled up and the fuel mixed and tried to start her. No joy.
Fuel line dribbled badly and I snapped the new tap over-tightening the connection. Tried to remove fuel tank to assist removal of broken bit but it seems to be welded as well as bolted on? Eventually got the broken bit of brass out anyway.
When I come to reassemble ...
Where the fuel line screws into the carb, via hollow screw with filter sleeve, there are red fibre washers and one is a bit chewed. Maybe that was the cause of the leak. Where do I get those washers and what size am I asking for (looks like about seven sixteenths in old money but I don't know if that makes sense)? And/or is there a better material nowadays available?
The fuel line screws onto the fuel tap with a recessed nut. No washer in there - correct? Is there something I can use to improve the seal?