Introducing myself; Shearwater

You can talk about almost anything here

Moderators: John@sos, charlesp, Charles uk, RickUK, Petergalileo

Shearwater

Introducing myself; Shearwater

Post by Shearwater »

Hi, I'm new to the Seagull world. That is to say: we, my parents and I had a Seagull behind our sailing boat in the fifties which was sold when I was still a child. Since then I always enjoyed these old outboard engines when I saw one though I had no boat since then. Two weeks ago I came across a nice Forty Minus (SJM 10337) + an incomplete FV for spares for a nice price: everything is there, looks nice, tank with no dents but it hasn't run for almost 7 years. Couldn't withstand this temptation. So I now have a new project: bringing this gem to life again. A quick inspection learned that everything of it has to be cleaned, new gaskets, maybe a few new parts, lubrication, some polishing before I can let it run again. No risks. The next step will be a small boat that suits my Seagull.
I have no experience with outboard engine repair and restoration, but a some with cars, British motorcycles and mopeds. I expect that I will have some questions in the future. By the way: I'm from the Netherlands.
Horsley-Anarak

Re: Introducing myself; Shearwater

Post by Horsley-Anarak »

Hi Welcome to the forum, there are few members from the Netherlands, I am sure they can help if you have any problems.

Post some pictures of your engines so we can see what you have got.

H-A
Oyster 49

Post by Oyster 49 »

Welcome to the forum, as H-A says, we like lots of photos, plus it makes it a lot easier to assist when we know which engine you have :D I also have an FV which I fully stripped and restored. Great little engine!
Jan

Post by Jan »

Welcome Shearwater,
So you bought the SJM and FV parts motor for sale on the Dutch 'Marketplace' site.
The FV parts motor was very interesting for me and Bruce will be jealous.

If you need any information or parts let me know.

Jan
PatLNR