British Anzani Help

Having problems with a Seagull? - ask an expert here

Moderators: John@sos, charlesp, Charles uk, RickUK, Petergalileo

pug33r

British Anzani Help

Post by pug33r »

Hi all,

First of all i'm new to the forum and a complete noob when it comes to the old boat motors, so please bear with me...After looking through many posts and information this looked like the place to be for information on a British Anzani motor i recently acquired from a friend. I have tried using the id program but haven't had any luck but it could be just me. It seems to look similar to most pilot models but i haven't seen one yet painted in what looks to be a military green. I have listed photos below and if any more are needed i can put em up. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thankyou in advance...

Hugz

Re: British Anzani Help

Post by Hugz »

Blimey, you are Sydney too! Welcome. Id only works for British Seagulls.

Here is mine: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h9UswYi1SgA

You might recognise the waterway!
Hugz

Post by Hugz »

There was a myth that they were used by paratroopers in WW2. One carried an inflatable and another the motor. Trouble being they were made post WW2 by quite a bit.
Keith.P

Post by Keith.P »

I don't really know enough about them, only that its not an early motor, but what age it is, I haven't a clue.
I just go by the tank cap and cylinder head.

Early, with a smooth fin-less head.
P1010216.JPG
Middle aged.
P1000171.JPG
and late P handle.
368f_1.jpg
I own about five of them and I did think that the early one was from the forty's, maybe I'm wrong.
Hugz

Post by Hugz »

Keith.P wrote:I own about five of them and I did think that the early one was from the forty's, maybe I'm wrong.
You maybe correct! Spiro may have more info. I know the Russians made a knock off version.
Collector Inspector

Post by Collector Inspector »

It is a later maybe mid to late 60s going by the prop, tank, transom bracket and leg.