Crankshaft/Flywheel vertical play

Having problems with a Seagull? - ask an expert here

Moderators: John@sos, charlesp, Charles uk, RickUK, Petergalileo

whigum

Crankshaft/Flywheel vertical play

Post by whigum »

Hello fellow Seagull appreciators :) I've been using the website for years, but this is my first time on the forum.

I have recently acquired a Century 100 that has about 5mm of vertical crank (I assume) play, if I grip with both hands around the flywheel and lift - is this somewhat normal, or do I have terrible crank bearings? It doesn't make a bad noise turning over, and seems happy enough. Also, I measured the cylinder pressure and got around 50 PSI, sound ok?

Thanks in advance for any help or suggestions.
Charles uk

Re: Crankshaft/Flywheel vertical play

Post by Charles uk »

About normal!

Safe to run after you've cleaned the fuel system, cleaned & set the points, & checked the lower unit oil condition.
Make it idiot proof and someone will make a better idiot.
headdownarseup

Post by headdownarseup »

Yup

Perfectly normal and nothing to worry about. (they pretty much all do this)

As Chas. has mentioned, keep the entire fuel system nice and clean and the points and plug clean/dry/correctly gapped and it should keep going for another few years yet without too much bother.
Check the oil in the gearbox every now and then too as its not unusual to have quite leaky seals (if you can call them that).
After a while the oil gets pushed out and is replaced with water which leads to a whole host of different problems to deal with in the future.

Any problems just ask. One of us will jump in i'm sure :P

Jon
whigum

Post by whigum »

Great! Glad to hear that.. I did think I'd found a good one, just wasn't sure on that.. thanks for putting my mind at rest. I will take your good advice and check/service everything before using it in the spring :)