QB Kingfisher & Osprey

Having problems with a Seagull? - ask an expert here

Moderators: John@sos, charlesp, Charles uk, RickUK, Petergalileo

Paskoya

QB Kingfisher & Osprey

Post by Paskoya »

Hello everyone!

I recently picked up a Kingfisher and an Osprey, and was looking for some advice on how to take care of them. I'm more than willing to give them the time and attention they deserve, but don't want to muck anything up too badly, given my lack of experience!

Both of them started easily, and went into gear with no trouble, but I was a little concerned at the amount of water they were pumping. I've had some experience with Centuries and Forties, but my 'new' QB's seemed to pump significantly less; perhaps half as much. How much water should ideally be exiting the block? Is a pencil-thick stream, as in the older models alright, or is less acceptable for a QB?

I've started taking the Kingfisher (KL27E0) apart, and found the waterways in the head and block to be pretty badly caked with rust. I've seen a number of different de-rusting methods discussed on the forum, but was wondering given the state it's in, what the best course of action would be. I assume this may be the reason it wasn't pumping much water! :lol:
IMG_20151119_172917.jpg
IMG_20151119_173726.jpg
Additionally, the internal exhaust pipe has broken off towards the bottom. Is this a major issue that requires a new part, or will it run happily in its current state?
IMG_20151120_000627.jpg
Cheers! 8)
Charles uk

Re: QB Kingfisher & Osprey

Post by Charles uk »

Me thinks young man, you are starting the walk toward the dark side.

The QBs were designed by a very able 2-stroke designer Sir Gordon Blair, so it's safe to assume that he wasn't adding hidden bits like the inner exhaust, just to make them more expensive.

Can we assume this will be going around the island next June?

Is the motor in Devonshire this side of the Atlantic or the other?
Make it idiot proof and someone will make a better idiot.