Hello - and this going to end in tears?

You can talk about almost anything here

Moderators: John@sos, charlesp, Charles uk, RickUK, Petergalileo

Frankenstein
Hello - and this going to end in tears?

Post by Frankenstein »

Hi everyone newbie here,

I'm fat (18st) - this is relevant - so please read on.

I was warned not to get one but I've just done it - it's a 1982 featherweight, model 45. It runs beautifully but is the shaft too short for my inflatable? Here are some pics:

http://i48.photobucket.com/albums/f220/ ... 1296229711
http://i48.photobucket.com/albums/f220/ ... 1296229803
http://i48.photobucket.com/albums/f220/ ... 1296229985
http://i48.photobucket.com/albums/f220/ ... 1296230648

The transom length is 15 inches (2 inches longer than recommendation for the model 45).

The boat is a small Seago (2.6 metres). I reckon that with my backside close to the stern I should get a bit more depth - but I don't know how much more, and it's way too cold to get out on the water yet to test it. I've never owned an outboard so it's a steep learning curve for me.
Keith.P

Re: Hello - and this going to end in tears?

Post by Keith.P »

That looks usable, I would move the lump of wood to the clamp side, so the bracket will be flat against the transom,
I sometimes have the opposite problem, too much weight in the boat and trying to keep the cylinder head out of the water.
skyetoyman

Post by skyetoyman »

I too think it looks about right but I would make the wood larger to stiffen the transom and to fit the whole bracket. As it's a seagull don't expect to able to waterski
LLS c 1961 on a crescent 42 boat c 1980 + wspcl c 1976 + 102 SD8561 c 1944 + 102 ACR 1948
Todd

Post by Todd »

I regularly run my Featherweight on a small skiff with a 15" transom with no ill effects. It's become a favorite for fishing.